Galaxy Moon

192

I just spent the evening doing something I haven’t done in a while. I got out my canvas paper and oil pastels, and I decided to spend the night drawing. I think it’s been about a year since my last drawing. While it is something I enjoy doing, I don’t really do it very often because I don’t feel it’s something I’m good at. I look at pieces of art that other people create, and I’m seriously in awe. I’ll never be that good. In fact, that’s why I choose simple things like a moon to draw because I can’t draw anything complex. It’s also why I haven’t created any art in a year. My last drawing did not turn out that well, so I became sort of disengaged. What I realized is that you don’t have to be good at something to enjoy it. I had so much fun creating this piece of art tonight, and I think it turned out wonderful. It’s my favorite drawing yet. I decided to call it Galaxy Moon because it reminds me of the moon from space. My goal is to start drawing more often, and hopefully this also inspires you to take up a hobby that you feel you aren’t good at. All we can do is work at it and grow, but as long as we’re having fun doing it, that’s what matters.

24 thoughts on “Galaxy Moon

  1. whatismaria September 10, 2017 / 3:03 am

    This is SO beautiful! I’ve always loved art and don’t get to do it often because I do not have much time, but now I want to take out my art materials and do something creative. Thanks for sharing girl ❤

    Liked by 2 people

    • Britney September 10, 2017 / 2:53 pm

      I know, time is an issue for me too. You should do it though. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Anthony September 10, 2017 / 9:53 am

    If doing art makes you feel good, you should definitely do it. Don’t care your production with another person. If you do that, you’ll never be satisfied. Judge your work by how it makes you feel ( from start to finish, including the concept part) and you’ll enjoy yourself.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. chloeburford September 10, 2017 / 11:46 am

    This painting is so amazing! It reminds me so much of Vincent Van Goghs Starry night painting. You have a real talent and I can imagine it being quite relaxing 🙂 xx

    Liked by 1 person

    • Britney September 10, 2017 / 2:57 pm

      It’s actually an oil pastel drawing (which are kind of like softer crayons), but the way I blended the colors does make it look a bit like a painting. I actually attempted painting a year ago and it didn’t go over so well. I think I discovered that I like drawing with my oil pastels much more, and it’s really fun doing the blending. It’s funny you mentioned Starry Night because that is my favorite painting! I love the night sky, so I am always a bit inspired by that.

      Like

  4. Nancy September 10, 2017 / 1:46 pm

    I love the artwork that you’ve made! Considering how it’s been a year, you did a great job with capturing the different blends from the moon’s shine. I agree with you – you don’t need to be good at something to enjoy it… Though, the more you enjoy it, the better you get at the hobby!

    https://exquisitely.me

    Liked by 2 people

    • Britney September 10, 2017 / 3:02 pm

      Thanks. 😀 The blending and use of color is my favorite part of drawing. One thing I try to remember when creating any art is that it doesn’t have to be realistic. That was something I struggled with at first, and I would get so mad that I couldn’t get things to look the way they were supposed to. Then I realized art can be like a dream world and you can make anything look any way you want.

      Like

  5. Hunida September 11, 2017 / 12:41 pm

    Hope you do get to start start drawing more! That’s a beautiful oil pastel moon 😍

    Liked by 1 person

  6. yayamy September 11, 2017 / 4:47 pm

    I love this! It looks absolutely amazing! Definitely can’t tell that you haven’t done it in a while. It’s so good!

    I haven’t drawn anything properly in years. I keep saying I will, but then I get distracted by other things. Hopefully soon!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Britney September 12, 2017 / 12:02 am

      I always get distracted with other things too. There’s just so little spare time to do all the things I want to do.

      Like

  7. becky September 11, 2017 / 7:03 pm

    How pretty! The first thing I thought of when I saw this was the moon, so your title is very fitting! I especially enjoy looking at the past art of someone I admire, it really shows that consistency is king!

    becky @ star violet

    Liked by 1 person

    • Britney September 12, 2017 / 12:02 am

      Maybe I’ll do a sun version next. 🙂

      Like

  8. Kim September 15, 2017 / 10:48 am

    I love using oil pastels! Great painting!

    Liked by 1 person

  9. adkinsdomain September 16, 2017 / 9:35 pm

    Every word you wrote = me. I could have written this post myself. Nice to know someone else feel exactly the same way. Also keep going, if you enjoy it, its worth it 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Tracy September 18, 2017 / 3:18 am

    I’m similar to you painting is something I like but am not very good at. I have pushed myself to not give up though and lately bought myself a cheap watercolor pallet and paper and kept trying until I was happy with how it turned out 😄

    Like

Leave a Reply

